Tense for a Reason

July 28, 2007

Tougher Than I Thought (Post #20)

Filed under: Blogathon, English Teacher Stuff — Tense @ 5:30 pm

So the hardest thing about this Blogathon so far has been the short amount of time which I have to write a post. (I’m sure that later I’ll change my tune and say that staying awake is the hardest part.)  See, it usually takes me about an hour to write a post (if it’s really long, it will take more time), and then I edit my own writing for probably 30 minutes afterward.  I am my own worst critic.  I walk away from my posts and re-read them when I come back.  Then I make any changes I feel are necessary.  Then I go surf blogs, and come back and usually make more changes.  …It sometimes takes me 5 times of going away and coming back before I get my post the way I want it.  This Blogathon isn’t giving me the time to do that.

Maybe this is a good thing, though.  I’ve read and heard published writers say that you should just write, forget about editing and grammar and punctuation (the horrors!) until you’re finished saying what you have to say, and then go back and fix all that stuff.  I’ve never been able to do it.  English teacher isn’t just a job title for me; it’s part of who I am.  And the use of good grammar is part of my character; it’s ingrained in my being!  (Okay, I think I’ve made my point.)  Anyway, perhaps this having to make quickie posts will be good for me in that way.  I’m getting good training on quenching my overwhelming desire to edit.

1 Comment »

  1. See, this is the part of the whole Blogathon thing that I just didn’t get – I thought you could PREwrite posts and just upload them, one every half hour. Now I have even MORE respect for what you folks are doing. Besides the fact that my husband would go bananas with my being on blogs all day, I don’t think that I COULD write a new post every half hour. I often have a line of posts queued up ahead of time on my own site, and I only post once a day….

    Comment by mrschili — July 28, 2007 @ 5:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

